Securing Your Facebook

How Best Are You Securing Your Facebook Account

When was the last time you checked the privacy settings on your Facebook account? It’s a smart practice to do this on a daily basis to guarantee that only the applications and providers you choose to exchange data with have access to it.

And if you’ve just spent time protecting your account, you can go back to the Facebook Settings tab and double-check everything. It’s likely that new configurations have been installed and older settings have been relocated. Continue reading to find out how to create a secure password, restrict how anyone will find you, and block Facebook from saving your position history.

Securing Your Facebook

Use a secure password in conjunction with two-factor authentication.

The first step in securing your Facebook account is to build a solid password and switch on two-factor authentication.

This can appear obvious, but its significance cannot be overstated. You can also be out that you are not using the same password for important accounts such as your banking app.

Use a password manager to assist you in creating and, most importantly, remembering your specific passwords (these are our top picks for best password manager). Adjust your password on the Security tab.

Switch on two-factor authentication once you’ve created a new password. When you sign in to your account with 2FA allowed, you must enter your protected password as well as a randomly created code. (You can use 2FA for all accounts and services that help it.)

Read Also: Twitter To Work With AP And Reuters To Provide More Context Around Disputed Topics

Most password managers often enable you to save your two-factor authentication codes. However, if necessary, you can still use Google Authenticator to store and have access to your codes.

Examine the Privacy Settings and Tools.

Your Facebook account has its own Privacy section. You can set the default privacy setting for future updates, monitor who can give you friend requests, and determine what details users can use to search for your account in this section.

Go through all of the options on the privacy settings and resources tab and tweak them to your taste.

To guarantee that someone with only a slice of your personal information can’t find your site, restrict your potential posts to “Friends” and restrict the phone number and email address search choices to “Only” or “Just Me.”

Remove previous articles from public view.

The way we use social networks has evolved significantly, especially when we become more mindful of how Facebook and others on Facebook will use our personal details.

Fortunately, you may prevent previous posts from being used by someone who comes across your page.

Go to the Privacy section and look for the option Limit the audience for articles you’ve shared with friends of friends or Public? and then press on it Limit

The Audience for Old Posts on Your Timeline would then appear as an alternative. Then, press the Limit Last Posts tab. Everything you’ve ever posted online or with friends of friends will be updated to your friends, restricting who will access it.

It’s an all-or-nothing choice. This means you can’t select and choose which articles to alter in this environment. If you intend to do so, you’ll have to go over the timeline and make the adjustments one at a time.

Securing Your Facebook

Examine gadgets that have ties to your account.

We’ve all logged into our Facebook profiles on assorted phones, laptops, tablets, and other gadgets throughout the years.

Facebook maintains track of the computers that have connections to your account and allows it simple to deactivate a malicious gadget or one that you failed to log out of.

View a chart of all those devices in the Security and Login page’s Where You’re Logged In portion.

If you have several users, press See More to see the full collection. To delete a computer from the chart, press the three-dot icon to the right of its name, then Log Out. You’ll be questioned whether you want all updates from that computer deleted from your site as well; a useful feature if anyone obtained entry to your account and posted without your consent.

Alternatively, at the bottom of the page, press See More > Log Out Of All Sessions to sign out of all devices associated with your account.

Don’t overlook to look at applications that have connectivity.

Similarly, we’ve all given countless applications access to our Facebook accounts. Any applications are discarded by developers over time and then become a security issue. If anyone has access to the app’s user database, they may theoretically gain access to any functionality on your Facebook account.

View the Active applications that have links to your account on the Apps and Websites tab. Select any apps you wish to delete by checking the box next to them and then clicking the Remove icon.

Delete any very outdated applications whose link to your account has expired by clicking on the Expired tab at the top of the list.

Switch off and wipe the phone’s Location History.

Facebook creates a chart of your location background using links to location data from your computer. You can erase your position history from this list, or if you’d prefer Facebook not to save your location history at all, you can switch it off from the same tab.

Open the Facebook software on your Android phone and then press the three-line button. Pick Privacy Shortcuts under Configuration & Privacy, then Manage your position settings on the Privacy card.

Then, go to Location History > View your Location History and type your account password when prompted. Finally, in the top-right corner, press the three-dot icon and click Delete all Location History.

On an iPhone ($899 at Amazon), the procedure is identical. Open the Facebook software and press the three-line button, then Settings & Privacy, Privacy Shortcuts, and Manage your location settings on the Privacy pad. Select Location History > View your Location History and, when prompted, type your account password. Finally, in the top-right corner, press the three-dot icon and click Delete all Location History.

You’re not sure you want to use Facebook anymore? You can uninstall your account, but it will require some forethought on your side. If you can’t seem to stay away from Facebook for some cause, here are some ways to keep your data secure,

Follow edgvio.com on TwitterFacebookInstagram and subscribe to our YouTube channel for modern technological news and reviews.